Banner image            Home    What's New    Articles    Images    Subjects    Corrections    Advanced Search    Timeline    Maps    Multimedia    About
The Encyclopedia of Cleveland History

GLENVILLE - The Encyclopedia of Cleveland History

The GLENVILLE neighborhood is located on Cleveland's east side in the area of St. Clair Ave. and E. 105th St. Incorporated as a village on 4 Oct. 1870, it was formally annexed to the City of Cleveland on 19 June 1905. Shady, thick glens through which little streams tumbled gave the area its picturesque name. Early New England farmers were the first to settle there, followed by immigrants from Scotland, Ireland, and England. Gradually, Glenville grew into a secluded rural village. Almost surrounding the flourishing village center at St. Clair and Doan (E. 105th) St. were truck farms operated by German-Americans, who hauled their produce to the city. During the "Gay Nineties," Glenville's lakeshore location made it a fashionable summer residence for Cleveland's affluent families. Glenville attracted national attention at the turn of the century as a horseracing center with the GLENVILLE RACE TRACK, built in 1870 at St. Clair and E. 88th St. The village also attracted national attention on 14 July 1895 with the opening of the Cleveland Golf Club (see GOLF). By 1930 much of Glenville's population was of Jewish background (see JEWS & JUDAISM), although a growing contingent of AFRICAN AMERICANS accounted for 8% of the neighborhood's residents. By the 1960s, the neighborhood was predominately African American. On 23 July 1968, riots erupted, causing widespread neighborhood arson and looting (see GLENVILLE SHOOT-OUT). In order to promote housing and commercial revitalization in the community, the Glenville Development Corp. was organized in 1978. Last Modified: 30 Aug 2010 10:36:29 AM

Related Article(s)

Related Link(s)
This site maintained by Case Western Reserve University